Things I miss….

Morocco has been the holder of many firsts for me… the first time I have been away from the friends, family and the US for longer than 3 months, the first time I have LIVED* outside of the US, and specifically… the first time I have ever spent Christmas away from family… so I thought to spread some love I would write about the things I miss

I miss….. 

*family*

*best friends*

*Herman and Lewis*

*going out to eat*

*egg nog (although I plan on trying to make it soon)*

*driving*

*girls nights*

*running outside*

*Christmas Lights*

*indoor heating*

*Carpets*

*Kitty Litter*

*My wonderful vacuum*

*Broccoli*

*Clothes*

*my hair straightener*

*everything on our wish list- ALTHOUGH I am EXTREMELY GRATEFUL for all of our package senders… it makes being here much more bearable!!!!!*

*decorating a Christmas tree*

*watching TV… on a TV*

*going inside a big store… walking through the aisles and looking at every* single* thing*

*voicemail*

*washing machines*

*Washington D.C.*

However, as Peace Corps volunteers in Morocco… there are things for which I am extremely grateful (that we probably take for granted) that other volunteers might not have… like WIFI, water in our apartment, reliable transportation, hot water heater… etc. etc. So in the spirit of appreciating LIFE as it is now… I thought I would also write a list of things that I will miss about Morocco when we leave (this is a game that a volunteer told me about awhile ago that really helps in times like these)

I will miss….

*fresh produce-practically right off the vine, root etc.*

*apricots*

*figs*

*AMAZING finds at the daily market- Burberry jacket for 8 dollarssss… WHAT!*

*the opportunity to learn part of a new language every day*

*the time to read*

*spending all day, everyday with Tyler….I am not sure he would say the same ;)*

*the time to bake/cook whatever I want*

*finding something I didn’t know Morocco had i.e. condensed milk*

*the satisfaction that comes from figuring something simple out*

*traveling to new places all of the time*

*living so close to the ocean*

*being this close to Europe*

*Other PCV’s knowing EXACTLY what I am going through*

*Learning about another religion and culture, firsthand*

The list isn’t as long as the first… but I am sure over the next 18 months I will learn to appreciate more and more aspects of Morocco. And things that I miss from home… might scare me when I return i.e. driving, big stores… and I am sure that there will be those times that I will be talking about someone and low and behold, they are giving me the stink eye because not only can they hear* me talking about them, but they can also understand……

Love to everyone at home, we miss you! I will leave you with a picture that we recently took for our 2012 Christmas pictures!!!

Image

6 thoughts on “Things I miss….

  1. Everybody here misses you too!! But I love your positive attitude through it all, and just remember, it’s going to be over before you know it so enjoy it while it lasts 🙂

  2. Ty and Am,

    We love and miss both of you very much. Really liked everything on your lists really some funny ones. I am sure the boys miss you too. Really enjoyed the pictures you both look great Henry and Layla also. Thanks for giving me HAPPY tears!!!!!!!! Love You Both, Dad Duff

  3. Your picture is fabulous! And I’m sure even though it is difficult to see now, you will miss a great deal of the things you grow to love and enjoy in Morocco. I had a professor once who did a lot of research in small tribal communities around the world and she said she used to get headaches driving around and going into stores when she would come back to the US because she was overwhelmed by the sheer amount of STUFF. Hopefully you all will readjust quickly. Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  4. Merry Christmas to both of you and the Katz. As you have so astutely observed, you have received and are surrounded by many gifts; which you have so wisely and elegantly identified.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and that wonderful photo!

    With Love, and best wishes for a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy, Productive New Year, Uncle Larry and Aunt Carole

    Here are some Prezzies !! Use that WIFI !

    Christmas 2012

    Cornville Christmas Song-Dueling Banjos

    We Wish You a Merry Christmas Too !!

    A Celtic Woman Christmas Celebration

    Celtic Woman / Chloe Agnew – ”O Holy Night”

    On Thu, Dec 20, 2012 at 3:02 AM, A pessimist sees difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees opportunity in every difficulty – Winst

Leave a Reply

